Friday, August 12, 2016


They’re everywhere, man. Everywhere! From the Northedge Mountains to the Bounded Sea, in  crowded cities and the lonely places in the wilderness. Close your eyes, throw a rock and there’s a pretty good chance you’ll hit a witch.  After which, there’s a pretty good chance you’ll either be dead or transformed into something unbearably cute.
Witches are hard to pin down. Some are good, some are evil. The older a witch gets, though, the stronger she gets.  The oldest, most powerful witches live in golden castles at the edge of the world. A witch who is just starting out is likely to share a cramped apartment with friends.
Witches aren’t joiners. That whole coven stuff is a lot of nonsense. Witches are territorial and prickly. They might live in the same city, but they’ll probably never meet for tea and sandwiches.
They don’t pay taxes. They seem to have a fondness for sweets. If you meet one, be very polite and you’ll probably avoid getting polymorphed into a pretty pink frog.

Class Features
As a witch, you have the following class features.

Hit Points
Hit Dice: 1d6 per witch level
Hit Points at 1st Level: 6 + Your Con modifier
Hit Points at Higher Levels: 1d6 (or 4) + your Con modifier per witch level after 1st

Armor: None
Weapons: Simple
Tools: Herbalism kit
Saving Throws: Wisdom, Charisma
Skills: Choose two from Arcana, Deception, Insight, Medicine, Nature, Persuasion and Survival.

Witches draw power from themselves and the world around them to fuel their spells. Use the Sorcerer table as shown on page 100 of the D&D 5e Player’s Handbook to determine Spell Slots per character level.  As a witch, you choose your spells from the Druid and Sorcerer spell lists.

At 1st level, choose three cantrips of your choice from the druid and sorcerer spell lists. You learn additional cantrips of your choice at higher levels.

Spell Slots
The Sorcerer table shows how many spell slots you have to cast your spells of 1st level and higher.  To cast a spell, you must expend a slot of the spell’s level or higher.  You regain all expended spell slots when you finish a long rest.

Spells Known of 1st Level and Higher
You know two 1st-level spells of your choice from the druid and sorcerer spell lists.
The Spells Known column of the Sorcerer table shows when you learn more spells of your choice. Each of these spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots.  For instance, when you reach 3rd level in this class, you can learn one new spell of 1st or 2nd level.
Additionally, when you gain a level in this class, you can choose one of the spells you know and replace it with another spell from the druid and sorcerer spell lists.  This new spell must be of a level for which you have spell slots.

Spellcasting Ability
Charisma is your spellcasting ability for your spells.  You use your Charisma whenever a spell refers to your spellcasting ability.  In addition, you use your Charisma modifier when settling the saving throw DC for a spell you cast and when making an attack roll with one.

Spell Save DC = 8 + your proficiency bonus + your Charisma modifier

Spell attack modifier = your proficiency bonus + your Charisma modifier

Ritual Casting
You can cast spells as a ritual if that spell has the ritual tag.

Spellcasting Focus
You can use an arcane or druid focus as a spellcasting focus for your spells.

Favored Environment
Your nature has a witch gives you an affinity with the environment where you live. Choose one type of environment: arctic, coast, desert, forest, grassland, mountain, swamp, underground or urban.  When you cast spells in that environment, you have advantage on attack rolls and can add your proficiency bonus to any damage that you do.
You choose additional environments at 6th and 10th level.

At 2nd level, you can perform a ritual to summon a familiar, a spirit that takes the form of an animal you choose. Your witch level determines the animal form that the familiar takes.  At 2nd level, for example, your familiar can be any beast with a challenge rating of 1/8 or lower.  At 7th level, you can transform your familiar into a beast with a challenge rating of 1/4 or lower, and at 11th level, your familiar can have a maximum challenge rating of ½.
Your familiar acts independently of you, but it always obeys your commands.  In combat, it rolls its own initiative and acts on its own turn.
When the familiar drops to 0 hit points, it disappears, leaving behind no physical form.  It reappears after you perform the ritual again.
While your familiar is within 100 feet of you, you can communicate with it telepathically.  Additionally, as an action, you can see through your familiar’s eyes and hear what it hears until the start of your next turn, gaining the benefits of any special senses that the familiar has.  During this time, you are deaf and blind with regard to your own senses.
You can’t have more than one familiar at a time.

Magical Recovery
Starting at 3rd level, during a short rest, you can recover expended spell slots. The spell slots can have a combined level that is equal to or less than half your witch level (rounded up), and none of the slots can be 6th level or higher.  You can’t use this feature again until you finish a long rest.

Ability Score Improvement
When you reach 4th level, and again at 8th, 12th, 16th and 19th level, you can increase one ability score of your choice by 2, or you can increase two ability scores of your choice by 1.  As normal, you can’t increase an ability score above 20 using this feature.

At 5th level, you can use your action and expend a spell slot to focus your attention on the region around you.  For 1 minute per level of the spell slot expended, you can sense whether the following types of creatures are present within 1 mile of you (or within 6 miles of you if you are within your favored environment): aberrations, celestials, dragons, elementals, fey, fiends and undead. This feature does not reveal the creatures’ location or number.

Witch’s Instincts
Starting at 9th level, you gain an uncanny sense of when things nearby aren’t as they should be, giving you an edge when you dodge away from danger.
You have advantage on Dexterity saving throws against effects that you can see, such as traps and spells.  To gain this benefit, you can’t be blinded, deafened or incapacitated.

Spell Expertise
At 13th level, you have become expert with one of your spells.  Choose one 6th-level spell from the druid and sorcerer spell lists. You can cast this spell once without expending a spell slot. You must finish a long rest before you can do so again.
At higher levels, you gain more spells of your choice that can be cast in this way: one 7th level spell at 15th level and one 8th level spell at 17th level.  You regain all uses of your expert spells when you finish a long rest.

Spell Sacrifice
When you reach 14th level, you can sacrifice a spell slot to restore hit points.  When you use this ability you regain the equivalent amount of HP to the spell slot level.  For example, by sacrificing a 6th level spell slot, you would regain 6 HP.
You must have spell slots available to sacrifice in this manner.  Once you use this feature, you can’t use it again until you finish a long rest.

Spell Mastery
At 18th level, you have achieved such mastery over certain spells that you can cast them at will.  Choose a 1st level spell and a 2nd level spell. You can cast those spells at their lowest level without expending a spell slot.  If you want to cast either spell at a higher level, you must expend a spell slot as normal.
By spending 8 hours in quiet meditation, you can exchange one or both spells you chose for different spells of the same levels.

At 20th level, you can cast a wish spell once per day without expending a spell slot.

No comments:

Post a Comment